Henderson, Maguire Make England squad Despite Being Injured

On Tuesday 1st June,2021, England head coach Garry Southgate has named his final 26-man Squad for the Euro 2020 Championship scheduled to take place from 11th June-11th July 2021.

Liverpool captain Jordan Henderson who has been out since February and Manchester United captain who missed his club’s last four matches have both been named in the squad.

The other inclusion is Liverpool right back Trent Alexander Arnold. The defender who is capped 12 times for his nation last played at international level in October last against Belgium in the nations league. He’ll need to beat competition from Chelsea’s champions league winning right back Reece James, Atletical Madrid’s La Liga winning right back Kieran Trippier and Manchester City’s Premier League winning right back Kyle Walker.

[custom-related-posts title=”Related Posts” none_text=”None found” order_by=”title” order=”ASC”]

There were surprise omissions from the squad that include Westham’s on-loan forward Jesse Lingard, Aston Villa’s Ollie Watkins and James Ward-Prowse, Ben White and Aaron Ramsdale.

England’s group stage matches will be played at Wembley Stadium with the opening match against Croatia on 13 June, followed by a huge match against rivals Scotland on 18 June, rounding off Group D against the Czech Republic on 22 June.

Full Squad.

Goalkeepers: Dean Henderson (Man Utd), Sam Johnstone (West Brom), Jordan Pickford (Everton)

Defenders: John Stones (Man City), Luke Shaw (Man Utd), Harry Maguire (Man Utd), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Kyle Walker (Man City), Tyrone Mings (Aston Villa), Reece James (Chelsea), Conor Coady (Wolves), Ben Chilwell (Chelsea), Kieran Trippier (Atletico Madrid)

Midfielders: Mason Mount (Chelsea), Declan Rice (West Ham), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Kalvin Phillips (Leeds)

Forwards: Harry Kane (Tottenham), Marcus Rashford (Man Utd), Raheem Sterling (Man City), Dominic Calvert-Lewin (Everton), Phil Foden (Man City), Jack Grealish (Aston Villa), Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *