A photo of FDC’s Ssebugwawo ticking ‘Museveni’ instead of POA in 2021 elections goes viral

A photo showing Joyce Nabbosa Ssebugwawo voting in the ballot basin in the recently concluded elections has gone viral on the internet.

The photo shows Ssebugwawo who was then the acting President of Forum for Democratic Change bypassing the FDC official candidate Amuriat Patrick Oboi who was number one on the ballot paper ticking someone who was either in the middle of the ballot paper or at the end ballot paper.

The photo which didn’t show who Ssebugwawo was ticking was clear enough to show that she had already ignored the first choice, her candidate and was rather voting another candidate who was not from her party.

The photo surfaced after Ssebugwawo was named a minister in the Museveni’s cabinet and given the State Minister of ICT position which was previously occupied by Hon. Peter Ogwang.

At the time of her appointment, Ssebugwawo was the deputy president of FDC party that has been the leading opposition party from 2004 when it was formed to 2020 shortly before elections of 2021.

Her appointment as a minister and trending photo made people conclude that she was voting NRM’s Yoweri Kaguta Museveni despite being the acting President of FDC at the time.[custom-related-posts title=”Related Posts” none_text=”None found” order_by=”title” order=”ASC”]

However some have noted that she was ticking a person in the middle of the ballot paper which makes it likely that she voted Mugisha Muntu of Alliance for National Transformation -ANT or Robert Kyagulanyi Ssentamu of National Unity Platform –NUP.

Ssebugwawo voting
Positions of candidates on the ballot paper Vs the position where Ssebugwawo was ticking

Whether she voted Museveni, Muntu or Kyagulanyi, one thing that is clear is that she didn’t vote her party’s candidate Patrick Amuriat Oboi.

After accepting her appointment as a minister in Museveni’s government, Forum for Democratic Change was left with no option but to expel her from the party where she has been a member for the last 15 years.

Ssebugwawo had been a divisional Mayor of Rubaga division in Kampala Capital City Authority a position she lost in the concluded elections to Ongoria Ezra of NUP.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *