Samuel L. Jackson – Kaddugala, Danny Glover set to Receive Honorary Oscars

American actors Samuel L. Jackson popularly known as Kaddugala in Uganda and Danny Glover are two of the 4 actors who are set to receive the honorary Oscars early next year.

Honorary Oscars also known as Governors Awards are a set of awards that are awarded to actors for their lifelong contribution of the movie industry.

The awarding event will be on January 22, 2022 and is always a red carpet event awarding the Academy Honory Awards and the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award.

Until 2009, the 4 awards were traditionally awarded on the same day with Academy Awards/Oscars; however, the they were later separated.

American 89 year old comedian and actress Elaine May, Samuel L Jackson and 82 year old Swedish actress Liv Ullman are the three actors that will receive the Academy Honorary Award on the 12th annual Governor Awards.

Danny Glover will receive the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award for his advocacy for for justice and human rights. He currently serves as a goodwill ambassador for UNICEF.

According to President David Rubin, the recipients “have had a profound impact on both film and society,”

Samuel L Jackson has featured in more than 100 movies and is one of the highest grossing actors of all time, with movies he had starred in grossing an excess of USD$ 27 Billion at Box Office.

Danny Glover on the other hand has started and played supportive roles in various movies with the most known being Jumanji: The Next Level (2019), Roger Murtaugh in Lethal Weapon series, The Color Purple (1985), Predator 2 (1990) and The Dead Don’t Die (2019).

Jackie Chan, Donald Sutherland – The father of Keifer Sutherland (Jack Bauer), Angelina Jolie and Oprah Winfrey are some of the big names in  the industry that have ever received the Oscars Honorary Awards.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *